First OB!

Yesterday (the 19th) I had my “first OB” visit for this pregnancy! It’s the first time in three pregnancies that I have made it this far, and I am feeling nice and sick so I’m hopeful that all is still going well. It is still too early (8.5 weeks) for the heartbeat to come up on doppler, but I get another viability scan (heartbeat peek!) at 10 weeks.

Other than our discussion of my lymphoma diagnosis and accompanying complications, it was pretty uneventful. She was happy to hear that chemo is being pushed back for now, and we talked about options for managing the pregnancy and birth if chemo does get moved up again. I love my OB! She is incredibly supportive and openly shares her faith, so I have an OB who says “God knew exactly what He was doing when He gave you this baby, even if it seems like the timing is all wrong or you wonder why NOW.” And, “You’re going on the prayer chain.” 🙂 I do wonder how many prayer chains I am on now! I know of at least six.

Back to her in four weeks, blood work and ultrasound in the meantime, pretty much the standard. I am feeling sick enough to feel sick but not so awful that I can’t eat, thanks to Zofran. I’m not to the exhausted stage yet but definitely enjoying my naps on the days I get them! That, however is nothing new. 😉

And finally, another shout-out to my husband for his amazing dedication to our family and to his other responsibilities, for the ways he perseveres and makes me laugh and makes me cry (good tears!) and loves us all into the bargain. Love you!

This entry was posted in Doctors, Family, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First OB!

  1. Kathleen says:

    The blog is a great idea. I’m sure it will be therapeutic for you too. You are also on our family’s prayer list….every night Matthew prays for Mimmis Phiwips 🙂

  2. Tammy-Saskatoon, SK says:

    I’m a stranger, praying for you. My mom was diagnosed with Stage IV Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma in 1988 at age 42. She passed away twenty years later at age 62 and her passing was totally unrelated to her lymphoma. In her twenty years she never went into remission but was on chemo only three times in 20 years. She was an amazing woman of faith and strength, a Baba (Ukrainian grandma) to 8, and an inspiration to many. She would say, “With God all things are possible and I am proof of that.” May God bless you with strength and encouragement as you continue on your journey.

  3. Monika says:

    I was just reading your blog and thinking how amazing and strong women YOU are. It got me also thinking about my life and my relationship to God. Your faith in God is a huge inspiration for me. Your story made me stop for a minute and take some inventory in my life. Thanks so much for sharing your life with me.
    Monika

Leave a Reply

