A new morning

Twenty-four hours ago I was in, or just coming out of, surgery. Going into it this time was much less nerve-wracking; I knew a little more what to expect from prep (that getting an IV is not that bad) and that I would be conked out for it. I’m a funny girl, but I like anesthesia! That swirly-wirly feeling going out, the deep relaxation of coming back in…obviously I’m not going to put myself in for any more of it than is necessary, but I do kind of like it.

Post-op this time has been more difficult than after the biopsy. Then, I went home that day, my arm was sore and I was tired for a couple of days, but I was up and around fairly soon and feeling decent. This time, while the surgical site has not been too painful–the doctor was able to do the job with the needle so did not need to make an incision–my back and shoulder muscles have been knotted and painful. I am normally a side sleeper, so being on my back in the hospital bed (and, being in a hospital bed) has not been my favorite. Probably the most emotionally difficult of the physical effects, though, has been that I can’t take full breaths since the tube is interfering. Or it could be the 600 ccs of fluid that were drained from around my heart yesterday–might take a while for things to adjust in there! It is better this morning–or I have just adjusted overnight–but it is annoying in that “I am going to fixate on this problem as the source of all frustration” kind of way. At least I was last night. It really is a new morning.

So. The sun is not shining, but the local farmers market is opening for the season today. My wonderful husband went through a raging thunderstorm and various mishaps to sit with me for a while last night and pray with me. I can get up on my own today without feeling much pain or any dizziness. We got a peek at baby yesterday before surgery and a listen-in afterward. The deep exhaustion is gone and I feel like I can have a conversation without falling asleep in the middle.

I am more and more aware of what good health care I have, and thankful for it. The doctor visits and surgery are stressful and exhausting…but where would I be without them? Thanking God today for all of the doctors, nurses, and other hospital staff who are looking out for me. For modern technology, especially the ultrasound scope that guided the doctor yesterday and for the handheld (oh yes! iPhone size) ultrasound that showed that precious flicker. For pretty decent hospital food and all-I-can-drink ice water. And, not least of all, for the hospital wireless network, without which I could not bring you this timely update. 🙂

Happy Saturday, everyone!

This entry was posted in Doctors, Family, Heart. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A new morning

  1. Aunt Barb & Uncle Dave says:

    Good Morning Sunshine. Happy Saturday to you too. I am glad to hear all went well and that you are in good spirits. Yes we too understand the gifts that God has given to the physician and nurses that perform such amazing healing through technology these days. So with that said, rest, eat, laugh (when you can), hug and kiss someone. We are there with you watching and listening to every move..Oh you should have a little package delivered today, maybe Chris can bring it to the hospital. Love you always..

  2. Kathleen says:

    Thankful for hospital wireless….you are too funny! I am too, and glad to get your update and hear your “voice”. Now, put down that computer and rest!!

    • It’s just an iPad. 😉 Don’t worry, I’m resting, in between vitals and mandated walks down the hall and meals (multi-tasking with lunch at this very moment). Hugs to the family!

  3. akasleen says:

    Very glad to hear anesthesia is nicer to you than it is to me! Hope you’re able to get some rest. I know it’s not easy in the hospital.

    • Some rest, yes. Last night was actually pretty good, and certainly better than the night before (did I forget to mention the part where I had to be here at 5 a.m.?) and I am resting today between all of my scheduled activities. I was joking yesterday that it was like a day spa, kicking back with the calf massagers, sipping my cranberry juice…today is more like one of those “activity camps”. Still getting my down time though. I hope you have a better anesthesia experience next time. 😦

  4. Betsy Phillips - aka "Mom P" says:

    So very thankful you can share what you are going through with us. We, too, are very much in awe of what God allows docs to do to help us live our lives. We love you lots and know you will be feeling oh so much better soon. I talked with Chris , Luke and Joseph this morning – so much fun to really talk with the boys. Can’t wait to be there with all of you!

  5. Donnalee says:

    Emily, I am so grateful for your blog so I can feel near to you and in the loop of what is happening. I think of and pray for you everyday but will really try to come and pray soon, and looking forward to the summer. ~Donnalee

  6. collmart says:

    I just found your blog through Kathleen’s and want you to know you have a stranger in MA praying for you and your baby 🙂

  7. Liz Wasinger says:

    Just wanted to join in the others to let you know that we are praying for you. I wish we could be there in person, but know we are sending you love and hugs across the miles. {{{HUGS}}}

Leave a Reply

