Here we go! Or, expect the unexpected.

I had an MRI this morning to assess the “something” that was discovered near my heart during the echo three weeks ago…turns out there IS a mass pressing on the right atrium. It is “not emergent” today, but oncology and cardiology do not want to take a chance on this one, and I am in complete agreement. My oncologist called at 1:30 and asked if I could be at the hospital to get checked in to start chemo…by 4:00. πŸ˜› So, here I am. Chemo itself will start tomorrow morning; so far I have done vitals, been baby-monitored by OB, had a PICC line installed (joy), and blood drawn. The upside of that is they take blood draws right from the PICC, no more sticks in my tiny little veins! Ordinarily I will do treatments outpatient, but in my circumstances they wanted to keep a close eye on me for the first round. Again, no argument here.

I was on my way to my regular OB when onc called, so went to see her. She is putting me on her prayer chain. πŸ™‚ We have discussed early delivery before, and it sounds like it’s a distinct possibility from the very brief discussions we’ve had with the other docs today…but for now I really don’t know what the plan will be, other than at least one cycle (two treatments) of chemo, one tomorrow and the next in two weeks. I am 31+2 today.

I have been pretty emotional over the past few weeks, knowing this MRI was coming and being pretty sure it would lead us here…though I admit I thought we’d have a few days’ warning! Once I got off the phone with the oncologist, though, I was just laughing, and I’ve been pretty darn jolly for the most part (not during PICC install, haha). Call it shock or adrenaline, whatever, I am just marveling at the absurdity of it all. None of this has gone “as expected” so why not this too? It’s also just a relief to KNOW…no more suspense.

My boys are staying tonight at a friend’s house and having a grand time with her kids…she is amazing and my hero today. My mom is flying out tomorrow to stay for a week. I had called Chris at work to tell him that our evening plans had changed, and the people he told before he left, plus church friends and neighbors, have been ready to go with childcare, meals, ride from the airport, everything. We both went public on Facebook and the love is pouring in there, too. We are amazingly blessed.

Please pray for us in the next day, days, weeks, as we adjust to this ever-new normal. For peace, for rest, for healing, for my boys (all three!), for baby. I will continue to post updates here.

This entry was posted in Doctors, Family, Friends, Heart, Hodgkin's, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Here we go! Or, expect the unexpected.

  1. akasleen says:

    You go, girl. Sending love and prayers!

  2. Katie says:

    Emily- I have been thinking of you and your boys:-) praying you get the care you need and that “going live” as you said, brings you some peace. I laughed right out loud when I read that! You make me laugh. I am truly amazed by you!
    – Katie

  3. Beth Koons says:

    We are keeping you close to our heart here at the Koons house Emily! You can do this!

  4. Aunt Barbara & Uncle Dave says:

    A dear friend just sent me a charm and a loving card that says . “I will never give up or give in until Pigs Fly”…The charm was a Pig with Wings shaped inside a heart.. I laughed and cried all at that same time.So I send this to you my love as well.
    You have all the right to get mad, sad,anxious, confused.and angry and these are important feelings. It is a part of the healing process. It the brain processing the overload, then this is when God shows up to let you know he is holding you close in his loving arms and will not let you fall..You will see this through and it will get better, but not right now.
    Love each other and know we will do anything for you and Chris and the boys..I spoke with Mom last night and we are staying close to her and Kevin and your Dad as well..This westcoast and eastcoast thing makes it a little twisted , but thanks to Skype, emails, blogs, cell phones we can be there one way or another together..Love Aunt Barb & Uncle Dave and your cousins…

Leave a Reply

