This post brought to you by the letter “P” and the number “12”

Please, no political Sesame Street stuff…gaaaah!

S’funny…when you are pregnant? And doing chemo? And have an intrusive mass by your heart? They all want you to DRINK WATER (and other non-recreational beverages). Because dehydration is bad for blood volume, and bad for cancer clots, and can cause low amniotic fluid and contractions. And then, once you’ve followed orders, a full bladder can cause contractions! So you take care of that but then drink more water, and…well. ‘Nuff said. Oh, except this: at eight months pregnant, getting up all day and night to deal with hydration issues is a bit of an adventure.

Twelve. 12. Ever since I learned about factors, I have really liked the number twelve. For related but expanded-upon reasons, I also like 36 (weeks pregnant tomorrow!) but I digress. 12 months to the year, apostles to Jesus, items in a dozen, rectangles on a Hershey bar (and yes, I now know that I can do better). Factors: 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12. Easy reduction of fractions: 1/6, 1/4, 1/3, 1/2, 2/3, 3/4, 5/6. Quick steps from one major percentage to another: 25%, 33.33333%, 50%, 66.666666%, 75%. And, the grand finale, 100%. Which is what I’m aiming for in terms of chemo completion. Twelve treatments. Three down…one quarter…25%. Already! If I can stay on schedule I will tip over the halfway mark to 7/12 complete before the new year, and then we will officially be on the downhill to early March and that magic 100% completion.

I like 36 because it has a LOT of factors and is the product of two squares. Just FYI. 🙂

In other news, I have been drinking a LOT (of water) and resting a lot and overall feeling…exhausted but otherwise decent. No nausea, no faintness, not even much heartburn. It was somewhat annoying/disheartening to see more hair come out on my towel when I washed my hair today. It has been coming out a few loose strands at a time over the past week, and it seems like the pace has picked up a bit this weekend…still in a thinning pattern (not clumps) but definitely happening. I am still adjusting to my short haircut, and it looks like the big adjustment is coming. The fatigue wanes, the PICC line hides inside long sleeves, but the lost hair will, I feel, mark me as bona fide. Good thing I’m in therapy.

We are in the path of Hurricane Sandy’s effects, which has delayed my mom’s expected return home by two days. Please pray that she can get home for a few days before flying back out on 11/6 to do all of this over again!

And now I will leave you with a quote from Luke, age 2.5 years, spoken to Nana after lights-out: “I not sleep aaaaalllll night, I just say, ‘Daddy, Mama, Nana!'” He’s a sweet (sleeping) boy. 🙂

This entry was posted in Family, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

